top of page
Search

Golf Ball Head to Head Series!

For the first content of this site, there will be a new head to head series featuring premium golf balls from some of the biggest names in golf!


As the 2019 golf season gets underway and the new models of everything are now firmly rooted in the market, we are treated to sweet some clearance sells as retailers try to clear out the previous year's models. This year I have taken advantage of this trend by ordering plenty of dozens of premium golf balls of the prior model. In doing so, I have acquired the resources needed to dig in and do some quality reviews of some premium balls to find one that works best for me. And thus, this review series is born!


During this series, I will be pitting premium golf balls against each other in a head to head review. I will take two different balls out to a round of golf, play 9 holes with each, and take notes on each ball's performance, including which one worked best for me and which one I would most likely game out of the two! I will be doing a round-robin style match-up to make sure each ball gets played multiple times and to give you as readers a good idea of how each compares, in case you are curious of any two or are considering buying/gaming one of these models and want to know the differences. Some factors I will be considering are distance, spin, flight characteristics, around the green, putting, quality, durability, feel, and consistency.


Let it be noted that this is by no means a scientific or definitive test. I have no access at the moment to a launch monitor of any kind and I will judge things based off what I'm seeing on the course. I will be able to measure distance via GPS tracking, but everything else will be based on what I prefer, what I see, and how the ball performs for me. Therefore whatever performs for me might not translate to your game, so just keep that in mind as you enjoy these reviews.


The balls I currently have in the lineup are:


Titleist ProV1 and ProV1x

Srixon Z-Star and Z-Star XV

Taylormade TP5x

Callaway Chrome Soft X

Bridgestone Tour B XS

Keep in mind, most of these are not the new 2019 versions, but rather the prior generation and still brand new, quality golf balls. I will most likely have a few more challengers to come as well, however these are the main balls I am considering and will give me plenty of work for the time being. Be on the lookout for the first installments coming soon and I hope you enjoy!

26 views0 comments
bottom of page